2002-12-03 : 12:05 p.m.
What's your politics? Coke or Pepsi?

The following was written journal entry. I think it makes me sound more angry than what I really was... I was more frustrated than anything else...

Date: 12-01-02

Listening to: Then Jerico (This Big Area)
(Don�t think to hard on this one� they�re an old- late 80�s, English, pop-rock band� and I�m afraid, impossible to find in this country.)

Let�s just put Sunday night�s evening as it was� shall we?

Larry King� entirely pissed me off� I mean� ENTIRELY.

The praise and much of the intro for U2 was warranted� but Bono had to keep sliding back into the topic at hand (the aids epidemic in Africa) over and over� as if it were some cheap commercial plug in�

He was a lot nicer about it, than he should have been� tsk, tsk�

Even CNN has to be thwarted by sensationalism� this is why I would not go into journalism kids�

I am way too opinionated and political� and I DO NOT BELIVE IN:

BROWN journalism� (unless a country�s security is at stake� ) but the death of millions of innocent lives? You�re fucking kidding me�

And thank you JESUS IN A HALF SHELL!!! Bono spoke a bit about his (their) stance on God and Christianity�
I can�t begin to tell you how happy that made me� why? Because now the constant arguing with all the Christ pushers (through U2.com) over this issue� that had me soooooo IRATE, can shut up already. I know none of this makes any sense� sorry� it�s a bit of a long story, which I don�t care to go into right now. But to give you an idea� there are these group of people who keep trying to push U2 as a christian rock band�

AND THEY ARE NOT!!! Grrrrrr�.

In any case� yes� the height of the evening� and poor Adrienne had to stumble herself right onto it�

The general banter throughout the program between her, John, and I� was fine for the most part� until Adrienne�s frustration kept getting worse and worse�

Adrienne, �Well, what exactly do they have to give us? I mean, what resources? Anything?�

I knew what she was implying� and as awful of an implication that was� I kept my cool.

�Diamonds.� John responded.

�That�s it? Well, those aren�t very important� they don�t have many resources do they.� Continued Adrienne.

�Well� if the millions of people weren�t falling over and dying, as a result of disease and mal-nutrition� both of which are completely avoidable� they could cultivate more resources� and actually be a more �resourceful� continent� it�s not all Oil and trade in the world Adrienne�� I responded.

Adrienne: �Well obviously it�s not very important, or else why wouldn�t the U.S. step in to help? Obviously it�s not very important� I mean diamonds are not important.�

Me: �Adrienne?! It�s not just about diamonds� and if you really wanted to get technical about the matter� diamonds are to an extent important� from an economical stand point� The fact is� if the world economy were to collapse or suffer drastically in any way� only certain values can hold withstanding� such as Gold, Platinum, and precious stones and minerals� I.E. Diamonds� If the U.S. dollar were to falter, the world economy would undeniably crumble to some extent� especially since, country�s everywhere and their markets are increasingly turning to the dollar for value� so you better believe something that seems so benign could be important� and to boot, Africa holds the monopoly on diamonds- if I remember correctly� but that�s not it Adrienne��

Adri: �What do you mean?�

Me: �What I mean is� south Africa is sooo fucking poor� they can�t afford to feed themselves� let alone, defend themselves on any military level� which is why� you can go there and find U.S., British, Arabic, and many other interests cultivating diamonds and other essentials, without very little dispute or even decent business skills from the natives� because they are too busy DYING!!! It�s called exploitation� and that my friend� is only a tiny part of the whole story��

Adri: �Well what makes Bono act like he knows it all� who�s gonna wanna listen to him?�

Me: �Are you kidding me?�

Adri: �Seriously� no one is gonna take him for an expert��

John: In a very soft spoken manner� a kind of: �I know Adrienne is going to beat me for opening my mouth� tone� �Ummm� because people wouldn�t take the time to listen to someone else� someone who isn�t a celebrity��

THANK YOU JOHN�. 10 FATTY POINTS FOR DR. JOHN!!!

Me: �Exaaaaaaaactly� the fact still remains people are too fucking lazy to search and respond outside of their immediate world� You, yourself, would never have taken the time under normal circumstances to listen to �the experts� as it were� on the issue� No� you are sitting here and learning Adrienne� because Bono is speaking� and no one else��

Yeah� I may have been a bit rough there� I did personalize it a bit� and hit her below the belt so to speak� but seriously�

Oh but here�s the part� I �almost� found amusing� she decides to try and nab me via another route�

Adri: �You know Alex� You idolize a lot of people��

Oh yeah� I know what she�s getting at� ( you see, I have quite a bit of posters from various artists hanging about in my room, which she was invariably grasping at to make an absolutely futile point� futile, because she really doesn�t know me all that well, just yet�--
and I can�t tell you how much I honestly tried to keep my cool� well, in my defense I hadn�t raised my voice or anything like that� in �keeping my cool� I mean� trying to remain level headed, so as not to lose all my tact�

Which we all know� IS NOT MY STRONG SUIT� as it is�

But all hell broke loose� and my ghetto raunch came out in full fashion�

Yes, good ol� me blows� �What? WHAT?� (I take a deep breath�)

�Listen Adrienne� let�s take my little Blink 182 poster on the fucking door as an example� shall we? Well, for one sweets� Blink 182� could go defunct come tomorrow� and honey� I could give a rats ass� seriously�. I COULD GIVE A RATS ASS� it�s simple, fun music� AND THAT�S IT�
do you really want to know why I have that poster up? At ALL????
Because Mark is one god damn mother fuckin� fine mother fucker� and I look at his face on a bad day� and dream about putting his precious face in my pants for a breath of MY fresh air� same with Christian Slater� and whatever other nonsense happens to be tickling my panties�
Outside of that� they mean nothing� My passion for them IS NOTHING!!! BECAUSE THEY DO NOTHING!!!
Where as, with Bono� and U2 in general� it�s a much more complicated arena for me� they don�t just fucking donate a couple pennies to some cause and call it a day� THEY EXERT FUCKING EFFORT� GOD DAMN EFFORT�

And even if I didn�t like their music� I WOULD RESPECT THEM WORLDS OVER�. BECAUSE OF SOMETHING I CANNOT DO� to the extent they do Adrienne� put mother fucking EFFORT�
The man understands that he has a responsibility to the world around him... a responsibility he has to attend to somehow... and most celebrities do not or won�t� when they should��

Adri: �I don�t think just because you are rich or famous, you should have to do anything� I don�t think they have any moral obligation to have to donate anything��

Me: (I�m physically smacking my head at this moment.) �Adrienne, the issue is not �morality�� the point is, these people, �celebrities� have the OPPORTUNITY that you or I do not have� to work on a level� that is almost impossible for the average person to reach� Anyone, can donate money� anyone� but not everyone can go and spend over a month in Africa to live and see for yourself all the atrocities that go on� to then, report to a world, that you know only will listen to pop stars� not to your typical George Bush or Tony Blair��

She looks over to John� who will not even look her way, to render any support�

She�s on her own�

I continue� �Adrienne� you were born into a kind of life that makes you LUCKY. It�s not a right to live the way you do� work where you do� live with whom you chose� how you chose� IT�S A FUCKING PRIVILEDGE� And all I know is� had I been born a south African, or an Afghani-woman, or an Andes poverty stricken native� I would want to know one little thing Adrienne�
WHO THE FUCK IS GONNA GIVE ME A VOICE?
Who the hell is gonna listen to me? And how Adrienne� how?
because it isn�t a fault to be born at the wrong time or under the wrong circumstances� and it certainly isn�t a choice much of the time� now is it?�

Adrienne got up at that point and casually walked away, mumbling: �I don�t want to have this conversation anymore.�

To which I added: �It�s nothing personal honey� you just have to believe and understand on some level (I hope) that these problems will directly affect you at some point... they will� just take a moment to educate yourself on it� and you�d see what I mean�
Honestly� I think part of the reason I know and make it a point to know what I do, is because� I don�t just come from a �broken family�, like most do�
I come directly from a broken �Country��where the world is all equally relative��

****************************************

And I want anyone who reads this, to understand something�

I am not a political activist so to speak� and I am a very typical voter so to speak� as I too, only chose to exercise that right vicariously� and like most people I can only do so much� however�

>Yes� HOWEVER,
I make it a point to live consciously and DO WHAT I CAN�
To be active in my world� because I understand politics is not a choice� we are all equally involved�
from the shirt you buy� the kind of groceries you get� to the TV you watch� and to whom you have the right to fuck� all inevitably boils down to politics� and to not understand this is absolutely benign thinking� and complete denial�

Everything when broken down, ends up on the political bandwagon� to think you are not directly involved in some fashion is complete�

BULL SHIT.

Abre Los Ojos!! Open your eyes!!

Again�
politics�
necessary or annoying?

Neither kids� neither�

You can always judge a person�s �worldly� level�(for lack of a better word)� with their response to such a question�

Because politics is neither kids� it is only relative�

A trick question I suppose� but that�s what happens when you dont take the time to really think�

And now that I�ve utterly stressed myself� because all I can do to affect the world for the time being� is help feed the man downstairs, who sits by the garbage can� I will be on my way�

And you have to understand� (oh christ, pleaaase!!)
I�m not stressed because I have to give up a few bucks� that I really will not miss�I stress because, if everyone did the same� without a second thought� we wouldn�t have something so simple and utterly preventable to worry about�

Now would we?

*************************************

(On another added note... Adrienne said the next day to me... 'sorry, honey... I don't really know about these things..'

To which I replied... 'Well now you do.')



previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24