2002-12-27 : 6:23 p.m.
Pandora has my daddy

Listening to: the Verve Pipe (Underneath)

Well� Well� these past few days have been interesting in the least�

From a conversation Danny and I had prior to my trip back home� to Christmas Eve at home� and christmas day� with friends present and gone.

Interesting.

Well I guess the most compelling would be the Christmas Eve dinner�

See, in my house� like most Latin homes� the celebration begins on �Noche Buena� (the Good Night)� Christmas Eve�

The whole day is spent in preparation for the evening�s dinner or feast- as it were� (But being that my immediate family in this country is only made up of: me, my parent�s, and brother� it�s only dinner for us�) Anyhow� so you�re suppose to spend the day prepping for the huge feast� socializing� nibbling on such and such� and Oh yes� plenty of wine�

And that�s how the evening usually will progress for us. Albeit, on a much smaller scale�

Dinner is then served at around 10:30 p.m. or so� and after all the munching� the gift exchange begins at the stroke of midnight�

Such a moment, always makes me giggle� because I manage to reminisce about simple things� like the conclusion I came to as a child, in order to explain Santa�s separate and earlier arrival into the homes of Spanish kids�(See, our Santa arrived the night before, on the 23rd �)� Mind you� my mother egged this lovely theory on�

Well first� Santa was obviously really spanish� and thus, loved the latino children more�(*laughing*)

Second� the gringo�s (i.e. American folk) didn�t know that we received our gifts first� because Santa didn�t want to make all the other kids jealous!

So there� tsk� tsk�

Santa�s flippin� Latino kids� ha!

But no� the more interesting bit came about while having dinner with my dad�

I honestly cannot, for the life of me� remember how the conversation even got to that point� (In all likelihood, because I was in a bit of shock�)

The tid bits that I had understood of my childhood� IS COMPLETELY WRONG�

For one� my stay in Ecuador� (the country were I was �technically� born in), I only had resided in for about a month� (much shorter than what I originally understood.)

Two� after which I moved to Chile with my mother for a while� I subsequently� (get this) arrived in the states at nine months�

Uhhh� that�s a few years difference there�

And I arrived on September 11th�

�Your kidding me?� I ask.

�Nope� September 11th, 1977� and that same day your Visa expired� it was a huge ordeal� if we hadn�t gotten you out then� we didn�t know how we were going to do it.� Get little ol� me out- that is�

Both of my parents were already in the states� and they could not� return to the country� having to leave me behind with one of my grandmothers. The government had claimed that certain taxes had to be paid� that hadn�t been, before I would be released� so they refused to let me out.

And although, the money was being pooled, (to get the taxes paid)� no one could leave or come back into the country� and a nine month old couldn�t exactly travel on their own�

So to make a long story short, some �gringa� woman over heard my dad flipping out about it, at (his then) work. She was a bit moved apparently� My dad said her exact words were:

�Give me a few minutes�� And left for a bit� to then return and say: �Okay� tell (my grandmom�s name) I�ll be there tonight��

So yeah� this lady paid for her own trip to go and return� all in one day to retrieve and save little old me� and although, they barely knew her� they had to trust her with little ol� me�

whacked, ey? So in one day� she traveled down� scooped me from my grandmother�s arms� and after few lay overs later� had me back with my parents in the states� all in the span of 24 hours.

We then got into some twist of political conversation� when my dad began exclaiming proudly, how Chile is the only Spanish nation with minimal debt and corruption� and comparably better in some cases in the states�

Which is true� the research� (however debatable) shows such inclinations�

However� being the proper devil�s advocate that I am� I asked him, if he hadn�t realized, that it was very much due to the huge American presence (albeit, cohort/CIA style)� and although the country is doing excruciatingly well� �we are speaking of country that still practices censorship� and has a government that doesn�t allow it�s people the privilege of viewing any and all American, or otherwise international �risqu� films.�

�As a matter of fact�� he moves forward. �A law was just passed, two weeks ago abolishing all media censorship�� Yeah� he thought he had me�

�Ummm� Papi� with all due respect� it�s December of 2002� a bit over due� ey?�

He starts to do this little teeth grind action� when he starts to feel pestered�

But I continue� (Hell, the man himself- taught me to gloat, at a good conversational chess move�) �And besides� forget a good blockbuster� why aren�t they pulling aside those responsible for the thousands of human rights violations that occurred during Pinochet� why the lag? Why? Because that would mean blowing the whistle on key American politicians of the time� Say like� Kissinger? Now that�s not very �free�� ey?�

Yeah� his teeth did some extra grinding�

And then, I don�t know where the impulse came� but the questions just spewed off my lips�

�Papi, where were you during the coup?�

�In Texas�� (I knew this already� but I had to start with the a proper lead-in question�)

�Was the U.S. embargo already in place then?�

�Yup� ehh� I was researching and buying plane parts and equipment.�

(Remember kids� we�re talking about military aircraft�s here� �Equipment��yeah�)

�Oh� and the Coup was�.?� I�m playing doop here�

With a dead stare, in my direction. �1973.�

(And I already know from previous investigations, that my dad was in fact was still in the air force, up until he left for the states� )

�So�� I imply, �You arrived in the U.S. in�?�

In a soft voice, �1976.�

That�s three years of military activity� Mmmm�

He got really quiet at that point� and that all too familiar sad and sullen look washed over his face� as he dropped his head a bit� and began fidgeting with his fingers� then hands�

It happens� every single time�

I get too close�

And every single time�
I shut up� say something positive and wonderful� and change the conversation�

So my dad can smile�

I just wish I knew� what he�s seen� heard�

All trapped in this Political and Humane Pandora�s box�



previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24