2002-12-23 : 8:01 p.m.
Thirteen

Listening to: U2 (Best of: Cd 1)

�I can�t believe the news today
Oh, I can�t close my eyes and make it go away
How long�
How long must we sing this song?
How long? How long�
�cause tonight� we can be as one
Tonight���U2

It was December, 1989.

My father had barely begun his job working with Eastern airlines. And for the first time, through connections and rebates� at least one of my parents, would have the opportunity to return to their native soil�

And it would be my mother�s turn�after a decade of exile� and she would decide to take me and my little brother as well�

But the strange feel of what was to come for me� the experience that would define my shape and view of politics and it�s relevance to my existence�began to creep in the most subtle of ways�
before the trip even began�

The phone conversations, the comments, between them� or anyone needing to comment or share�

�Are you sure it�s safe?�

�Will Andres be okay with an American passport?�

�Is it to soon?�

I was only twelve� and didn�t know what to make of all this� all these secrets�

I had been kept in the dark about, for so long�

(and it continues to this day).

Where are the answers to such key questions:

�Why don�t I know my cousins? My uncles? My aunts?�
�how did we end up in this country?�
�Why is it so hard for anyone to visit us?�
�Why are we the only ones here from Chile?�
�Why are we alone?�

I never knew.

I don�t know.

The detailed truth.

All I knew, was that I would be spending my 13th birthday� and the turn of the decade there� And I also knew,
that Daddy would not go�

And although they used money as an excuse� I knew from the tones of their voices they were lying�

And it really wasn�t that Daddy did not have enough money to go� (the tickets were much too cheap under the circumstances�)
and when I contested that answer� my father replied with: �no time.�

But I knew, that too was a lie. And for some reason, a fearful reason� he could not go.

********

The flight was direct. Eight hours.

We arrived in the early Chilean hours� about 5:30 a.m. We flew into Santiago� where the only grandfather I had met up to that point would be waiting for us. A tall blue eyed� stunning older man�
with the only voice I would ever recognize as family on the phone�
strong�loud�dominant�

Seeing my mother, fall into tears as she hugged her father� was odd� and distressing in a way- I cannot put into words�

Because, I too, do not know entirely- the pit from which they climb out from.

I remember the stillness� the cold air� the heavy dew�

The airport, was unlike any airport I had ever seen� huge and beautiful� but empty and isolated�

A doorway to the rest of the world� but with an undisclosed key�

It was eerie� and it made me uncomfortable�

We packed up the car� and went on our way� into a foggy highway� trickled with the occasional and random automobile�

As I sat in the back� the tone in their voices� in my mother�s quiver� made me turn the volume down entirely, on my headset� as I tried to listen intently on their conversation�

I was able to grab tid bits of it�

�Papi�� my mother would go on� �Until what time is the curfew in effect?�

�They�ve recently lifted it�� he would answer.

I was a bit confused at that age� a curfew? In a city? For what? (How little did I know.)

And the strange tension, just made me feel uncomfortable and scared� but I didn�t know why� or even where it was coming from�

In no time� as we drove on the highway�
we drove through fields and fields of these strange tree like vines� propped every which way, like canopies of green lushed bundles� of endless green leaves.

I then noticed my grandfather, noticing me looking out- by way of his rear view mirror�

�These fields produce some of the greatest and finest red wines in the world�� And with that one line, he went on to give me my first education on fine wines� that would last for a solid 15 minutes� �You should know these things�� he�d add. ��because it doesn�t matter where you live or that you were technically born elsewhere� You� are a Chilena� esta en tu sangre�(It's in your blood.)�

Hearing those words, evoked the strangest feeling�

I had never until that day, been given a clear designation of what �I was�� and the responsibility it implied.

It was shortly after that point that my grandfather would take the turn that would lead off the highway� and onto the emptiest of streets�
streets that couldn�t possibly belong to a �city�� a thriving �city�

We arrived at a red light�

There was silence in the car� in the air� and even from the few two or three cars that waited with us�

and then�

In an instant, as the light turned green� and we began moving�
horns began screaming� people were running onto the streets� out of the streets�
with us�
against us�

We were driving into something� or something was driving into us�(?)

My heart was racing� my brother began yelling �mammy��

Then I just stared at the faces running� screaming� yelling� passed every wich way...

�Viva Chile! Viva Chile!�

"They" were happy?

The flags were huge� cloaked on people� bicycles� huge masts� being run by two to three boys�
Men�
elderly men�
women�
children�
running� chanting� screaming�

�Alwin!� �Alwin!�

My mother asks in a yell� �what is going on?�

My grandfather�s response� with a chuckle� �Oh yes� it happened over night, while you were on the flight� Alwin won the elections��

�Alwin?� I asked.

�Yes�� my grandfather answered. �YOUR new president. Your new �Elected� president.�

I went on to learn�
about Pinochet�
the dictator set to save a country� only to fall victim to his own greed�
I learned so much� so much in pieces� that was offered as My information� �What you need to know��
And in time, I will give you more details dear diary�

But the history lesson came and comes in pieces� and this moment and what more I would come to witness� was more than a lesson on politics�

It was a lesson on how: intertwined politics and existence are�
and how emotions� and the drives and identity they create cannot be separated from it�s origin� A politic, in and of itself.

That moment, electrified me, consumed me, frightened me�

I played my walk man the rest of the way home�

�And the battles just begun
there�s many lost, but tell me who has won
The trench is dug within our hearts
Mother�s, children, brothers, sisters
Torn apart��

**********

I would learn a lot� from my grand father� I would learn a lot from Gabriela� my cousin� (two years older)�I would learn a lot from Maggie� (five years older)�

Maggie and Gabby impressed by my emotional and intellectual maturity� kept me at their side� and taught me politics, in the way a 'rebel' would survive�
for decades on end�
as a malicious pimple on a military�s behind�

They would decide to take me to� Ponce de Leon� a plaza� where all the rockers, punks� and social outcasts would commune to smoke cigs and to discuss�

Politics�

But I was sworn to do one thing�

To NEVER say I was American (unless they themselves gave the okay� it was something taht they feared could be "over heard"), and if neccesary, they would give me a signal to play mute� (you see, my spanish accent at the time� was a bit piss poor� and they feared that the �wrong people� could discover where I was from�)

And these "wrong people" I was told about, were called the Paco. �The police�� but the police here� was in fact the military� and at this time� American�s were not liked overmuch�

(And having already spent ten years as an American� I just as well should have been born one�)

There was no difference�

And I would learn that their power� their hold, would end at the stroke of midnight� as the first official president would take over January 1st, 1990�

The first 'official' president, in almost seventeen years�

Only two days prior� I had just turned thirteen� whereby I had finally learned to smoke a cig properly�

A damn parliament no less�

And as the new adult in town� they wanted to share my voice, my ideas� my theories� my stories of America� with those they knew.

To the rest of the like punks and metal heads�

But again� and again� Maggie warned me� and reminded me of the signal and the plan to play mute�

You see� I would come to hear about countless of stories� of how the �pacos�� would conduct sweeps� and beat and arrest young men and women�

For sometimes simply walking� and being at the wrong place at, at the cliched- wrong time...

They feared and hated these Paco�s, like my American young friends� feared and hated their �suppressive� American parents�

If they only knew�

If they could only see�

We would be sitting at the plaza� talking�

As I was being introduced left and right to many different folk�
The first, was a handsome young man with long hair� jeans and a jean jacket� and a Metallica shirt underneath�
Oh, he was so beautiful� and considerably older� but I was awestruck nonetheless�

Eventually he went on and socialized with others� and we all kept talking amongst ourselves with our added friends�

When I abruptly, heard a crash�

A bottle had been broken�

I turned and the military was coming from all directions� but no one moved� Maggie just grabbed my arm and Gabby�s� But no one moved� No one said a single word...

This one Paco� began swearing at the young latino man� with the long hair�that I had just mentally professed my love to�

�Your disgusting!� the paco would yell� �Do you want me to take you in! Do you?!!�

�No sir� No� I�ll leave� I�m sorry sir�� the young man pleaded� and pleaded�

The paco kept pushing him back� and yelling and instigating� while other paco�s just watched and banged their long black nights sticks against their palms�

While others quietly marched around� and slowly began to creep in � with machine guns on hand�

The Paco� finally grabbed a bottle� and broke it against a cement bench�
And continuedn to threaten him with his newly acquired arsenal�

�You piece of shit� you're all filthy piece's of shit� disgusting!� the paco yelled and yelled at him� �I�m going to arrest you��

And in a moment of quivered bravery� the young man stopped moving back� and said: �You can�t.�

�Oh no?� Said the Paco� He dropped the broken bottle� picked up another one� and threw some of the liquid that was inside, all over the young man� and proclaimed� �Public intoxication!! Lewdness!!�

And in that instant� another Paco� hit the young man from behind with his night stick� and as the young man buckled forward� the paco swung his arm back� in an aim, for what I knew would be his head�

And in that very same instant� before I could see the final impact... people began screaming� maggie grabbed my head� and physically forced me to look away� as her and Gabby yelled at me to "run�"

"Apura! Apura!" (Hurry! Hurry!)

And so we ran�

Until we made it home�

When Maggie would only then tell me� �and to think� you�ve only seen just a little bit�It�s actually better now��

Better?

I will never forget him� and I always wonder what happened to my young beautiful man, in a black Metallica shirt�

********************

Some kids at the age of thirteen, get a party as a right of passage into adulthood� and proclaim them masters of their new found �adult� fate�

I instead, learned that I had a responsibility to the rest of the world�

That my only party�

Was my �luck��
by happenstance
of being able to live in America.

Thirteen� is my �lucky� number�

My number for enlightenment. I find freedom in thriteen... and multiples of thirteen...
As I can still look back and come again... full swing... thriteen years later.

�I can�t believe the news today
Oh, I can�t close my eyes and make it go away
How long�
How long must we sing this song?
How long? How long�
�cause tonight� we can be as one
Tonight���U2

previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24