2005-11-02 : 9:51 a.m.
Existential constipation

I live in New York City. Just ranked the most expensive place to live in this country.

I also live in a small basement apartment, with one window in the entire place, for a good chunk of change.

Here's an email to my friend regarding some of the housing issues I'm having in the big apple:

****************************************

I have to tell you...

This house, one of a few on my block went up for sale... and it's soooo cute, and fairly small compared to most of the others.

In any case, after our little discussion yesterday, I thought what the heck, let;s find out exactly what this house is going for. But first some details. It's a three family house, which blows me away that they would convert such a tiny place into a three family home...

two of the floors are approximately the size of my apartment, (I poop you not) and a basement apartment, smaller than the one I'm in.

So I call the realtor and she says, oh they just closed on the house... (my heart sinks, not that I would have been able to get the house right now anyway, and I was just curious...)

"Say..?" I ask, "Would you be able to tell me how much the house finally closed for? I'm interested in what these houses are going for in my neighborhood."

"Oh sure..."

"Great..."

"$899,000"

"Come again...."

"$899,000"

"I heard that part..." And then I think I made some kind of gasp for air, because I don't remember being able to breathe at this point.

"Well... they just refurbished the house with new appliances..."

"Oh well that makes sense... I'm sure with top of the line Diamond encrusted and gold trimmed 'P'Diddy' refrigerators and stoves..."

Luckily she laughed, but still had the nerve to ask...

"Well I have other homes within this price range, would you like me to show them to you?"

"Ummm... yeah... I think I need to call you back in a few more years on this one..."

And with that I ended the call and what is the constipation of my very existence within this city continues....


previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24