2004-12-14 : 8:56 p.m.
Throw sticks and stones to break his bones...

After having been to England this November, I decided to do some research as to WHY everything was and is so dang expensive over there. And then the thought occurred to me...

In the years of my adolescence, I traveled a few times to Chile and Ecuador. I was always dumbstruck by how cheap things were. Food, articles of anything (so long as they weren't pop-culture American brand nonsense), to land, and tampons.

Yuh-huh.

And I always came back to the same conclusion: Said countries were poorer than their American counterpart.

And the main culprit, that tortured and pulled such societies to the depths of despair?

Government.

Of course.

And so I wonder why the reverse is true, with England and the rest of Europe to compare. (Oh who am I kidding, the REST OF THE DAMN WORLD. Even Chile is doing phenomenal.)

Well, in doing some research I read many long (and boring) explanations. Rather then paste and copy anything here, I invite you to go here.
It sums it all up in the most basic and mundane level.

And before you go off, understand that yes I DO HATE THE MAN. And I just seem to keep finding reasons. But in all honesty, I somehow managed to give the bastard some warped benefit of the doubt. Because I assumed the result of these effects had to be more than the resulting actions of one dip shit and his posse.

But go figure... it was.


previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24