2002-11-27 : 3:04 p.m.
daddy's little girl

Listening to: The Cure (The Head On The Door)

First� ouch my mouth�

Second� ouch my ears�

Third� ouch my heart�

��yesterday I got so old� I thought that I could die/
yesterday I got so old� it made me want to cry/
Go on, go on� just walk away�
Go on, go on away from here���The Cure

My dad called me yesterday� and as it has been for some time� it was an odd and as of late� quite common and superficial conversation�

By superficial, I mean� without substance of course� then again� any conversation, compared to the ones we use to have (now a few years ago) seem superficial�

He called me from Puerto Rico� (he was in the midst of another lay over from one of his flights� he�s a cargo airline pilot- see�)

It�s probably been weeks since I�ve actually heard his voice last� he wanted to see how I was doing, after my little mouth operation� and to tell me my mumsy, would be calling me a day later� so as not to make me talk anymore than I have to�

The conversation went as follows, in Spanish� but translated for your benefit dear diary�

�Ale`! Hola!�

With my newly acquired lisp� �hi daddy, how are you?�

�Oh� fine�fine� in Puerto Rico, for a stop� how�d the operation go?�

�Good� good� I�m just really sore right now��

(*pause*)

�Mmmm�okay�well�ummm�if you need anything?�

�Yeah, I�m fine� really��

(And to make an annoyingly long story a bit shorter� the same benign flow continued with the following topics: �How�s the dog?�, �How�s the weather?�, �Going home for Christmas?� oh good, oh good��, �Mami will call later�right�right���Now add long pauses, in between each segment� till it�s inevitable uncomfortable end�)

My dad: �Well� I�m gonna go get dinner��

�Oh, okay��

And then I do� what has become a very (admittedly) unhealthy thing� I waited for him to say it first�

He hesitates a bit��I love you�� and sighs�

�Ummm� uh� I love you too daddy� bye.� And I hang up the phone.

And I know�deep down inside� that my mother nudged him a bit in order to call� I know this� it�s hard for him, y�see�

Because I know he loves me� and he lost half of his world, when he lost me�

I�ve forgiven him� but at the same time� I can�t let it go�because it all completely changed me�

For so, so long� I had always prided myself on really being able to treat each person based on their individual merits�

I can honestly say, that for much of my entire life� my current �boyfriend�-if you will, never paid the price for any heinous crimes committed before him�

I just never believed it to be fair� and I know any and all would agree� but how many of us actually make a concerted and conscious effort, to judge someone solely on what they give to you�

Consider that a challenge�

So yeah� that�s how I once was� I�m working a bit backwards I suppose..

But I was the undeniable��daddy�s little girl�� and any man I ever met had to encompass just a few of the same traits� I believed were true to the core�

For one� if love is to be measured� it�s to be mounted against the effort put forward by any sole person� not the defining result. Anyone can create a �result�� but very few have the character to actually get up to actually carry you to any finish line�

So as long as my dad fought and tried� he was infallible�

It didn�t matter that I couldn�t have the same dress as the other girls in the fifth grade� it didn�t matter that my room wasn�t so big� it didn�t matter that I got daisy�s instead of roses� because they grew just the same� and were colored by the same light�

Yeah, it didn�t matter�

There is nothing more honest� more truthful than the �effort� you put in loving someone�

You can love anyone� but does it matter? Does your breath� depend on it?

Effort.

And I honestly thought� this man�s effort would never waver� it would never end�

And when it did� even if (in perspective) for just a few days�

Daddy�s little girl lost all faith� and now nothing is real to me anymore�

Nothing.

And as horrible as it sounds� I �hate� him for that�

He had no idea� but He was the �proof� for all that I believed�

And it too� became fallible�

Which is why this �little girl�, may never let herself be walked down the aisle�



previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24