2002-11-29 : 9:18 a.m.
american

Listening to: Ned's Atomic Dustbin (God Fodder)

"...Your telling me it's in the trees... in the trees... it's not, it's inside me now... you're telling me it's on the ground... it's all around...but it's not, it's inside me... you're telling me it's in the skies, but use your eyes... it's not, it's inside me now..."--Ned's Atomic Dustbin

So I was promptly wisked away yesterday morning... for the thanksgiving festivities... with Adrienne and Laura (her sis).

It was surreal... and undeniably one of the most romantic days of my life...

I was American...

I mean... Mary-Lou Retton, winning olympic gold... American for an entire day...

I don't even know how to write about it... because to you dear diary... it would seem so benign and redundant...

From the first show of snow falling on the ground this winter...

To my first ride on a train... a real train... going over a few hills and random neighborhoods... nothing like a subway ride...

They even punched my ticket...

like they do in the movies...

And there she was... my adoptive bleached blonde... heavy set-- marlboro smelling... auntie... waiting to pick us up...

the simple tour... through all the houses... with pointed... northern style rooves...

(I'm a tropical native, remember...)

Snow... slighted amassed through out countless yards... perfectly trimmed... and still stubbornly green...

To the questions... the excitment... the cooking... the prepping... the snacking, the gossip...

and Oh!!! The grandparents... so much like the grandparents I never got to know...

With the heavy-accents... denoting the all triumphant stories... that brought them leagues over to this very same country...

immigrants... in search of the now redundant cliche...

The roads paved with gold...

The stories... and the constant repetitive nature of phrases and lines... due to the inept deafness... because of grandpa's stubborn take on hearing aids... and their necessity...

Yes...

and then to the dinner...

even the prayer...

which I was asked to repeat in spanish... (yes... I shared a bit of irony there... with this God...)

(You see Auntie... was fascinated with the "foreignor")...

And yet... I never felt like I was...

I even got my very own christmas present at the end of the day...

Bath goodies... that smelled like perfumed green tea's...

how did she know? Just luck, I suppose...

I was hypnotized with the constant, back stabbing banter... of each family member... to and about the other...

I was so humored with the pure honesty of it all...

and I was so saddened by it and jealous as well...

Who's the black sheep in my family? Who's the slut? Who are the self-professed broken? Who's knocked up? Who can't conceive? Whos the addict? Who's the cook? Who's menatlly ill? Who hates... blatantly... openly... secretly? Who loves...

Me?

The only other person I know, who may understand... is my little brother.

He too, can only wonder how and why... and what's it like to have the good ol' Pain in the Ass for a family... to be entirely exhausted by visits, coupled with three thousand unwanted opinions from the entire flock...

Yeah... I was American for a day...

Alex.

Tre~ cool...

previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24