2003-04-12 : 9:52 p.m.
Short of breath...

Written: 4-12-03 Time: 9:32 p.m.

Listening to: The Cure (Blood Flowers)

Funny,

When this album first came out...
I wasn�t very sold on it. I mean, I liked it. But it wasn�t in the top five for an all time best Cure Album...

Nevertheless, it would be a matter of time... a short time... where this album would come together for me...

*************************************************************************

I came home one day, after visiting Danny�s (G.) Mom... after he had just passed away...

And I would lay on my bed, at a loss, just wanting comfort... but having no one or nothing, that would suffice.

And so I put this album on...
for no particular reason, other than I needed something that would help accompany the sorrow... and something that would equally soothe...

The Cure always does that for me... no matter what the occasion...

And as always... it helped to propel my thoughts... guide them... settle them... because you see, without the words, to solidify, and help me focus...my thoughts will run a muck...

And just churn and churn... over and over... faster and faster...

Sometimes I literally feel as if I could gouge my own eyes out, just to relieve the pressure...

It�s as if I'm going to go crazy...

But the words and melodies... give me structure... and take away that subtle edge that always creeps up...
And ultimately destroy you, if you let it.

Loneliness.

And so, that evening I played the CD. And focused.

And the song, �Where the birds always sing� played...

�The world is neither fair nor unfair~
The idea is just a way for us to understand~
But the world is neither fair nor unfair~
So one survives~
The others die~
And you always want a reason why~
But the world is neither just or unjust~
It�s just trying to feel that there is some sense in it~
No, the world is neither just or unjust~
And though going young~
So much undone~
Is a tragedy for everyone~
It doesn�t speak a plan or any secret thing~
No unseen sign or untold truth in anything...~
But living on in others, in memories and dreams~
Is not enough~
You want everything~
Another world, Where the sun always shines and the birds always sing...�

And with it came the voice of Danny's mom to mind... and her describing to me how he died...

�Tenia lagrimas...�
He had tears...

He was laying on the hospital bed... all of his family was there... and old friends who had made it in time.

She told me, how Danny�s father, took her outside...
(these two people who had been divorced and separated for years...Had become inseparable for Danny... in light of his fate...)

And Danny's father, told her... that they had to say �something� to him...
-they had too...

�...pero no queria...�
But she didn�t want to...

She had decided that his strength to fight depended on it... and she would NOT say it.

But he told her, it was time. He was in pain, and it was time.

And in her tears she�d tell me...

How they reentered the room, as everyone gave them room, and stepped outside. And they were at his side... when his she took his hand... and told him, �It�s okay...�

She said... �It�s okay...�

And she told me as he lay there motionless, in pain, under heavy -pain medicated- sedation...

He cried...

�...se le caian las lagrimas...�
The tears fell down his face...

It�s okay... she�d tell him...

�It�s okay to let go... it�s okay...�

And a boy who lived only 21 years, succumbed to his leukemia... and stopped breathing shortly after.

And the song continues for me...
�The world is neither fair nor unfair~
The idea is just a way for us to understand~
The world is neither fair or unfair~�

Today as I came home, I was told that my grandfather... whose voice keeps replaying in my head, like a tape recorder...

Stop, Rewind,

Stop, Rewind,

Memorizing... to not forget.

He, my grandfather, has been moved to the hospice...

He had a very difficult time remembering his own daughter, my mother, when she arrived to be there for him...
the pain is that great, that disorientating...

But now all his children are there... waiting.

He has cancer...

He�s been given a week.

And my father can only repeat the same thing over, and over to me...

�It�s better this way... he needs to rest... it�s been too much...�

As if something has to be put to sleep... in order to �save� it (?).

And all I can think... all I can feel... is the memory... the visions of Danny and what he looked like when he was going through Chemo...

It�s burned in my skull and haunts me...

And I remember begging to die instead..

Wanting to die instead...

�It doesn�t mean there has to be a way of things~
No special sense that hidden hands are pulling strings~
But living on in others, in memories and others~
It�s not enough and it never is~
You always want something more than this...~
An endless sense of soul and an eternity of love~
A sweet mother down below and a just father above~
For living on in others, in memories and dreams~
Is not enough~
You want everything~
Another world where the birds always sing~
Another world where the sun always shines~
Another world where nothing ever dies...�



previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24