2002-11-22 : 5:48 p.m.
Serendipitous

Listening to: Nine Inch Nails (Downward Spiral)

��Nothing can stop me now, cuz I don�t care anymore/
Nothing can stop me now, cuz I don�t care�� �NIN

yeah� that wonderful night on the �W� train� that is what would have suited the mood perfectly� although� I find Mr. Trent tends to instigate me into a bit more of a violent nature� so for the sake of that stupid �lady in red�� I suppose it all worked out just as well�

On a brighter note� YESTERDAY!!!! From beginning to end� yesterday!!! Was just wonderful really�

It was serendipitous� in all it�s wonder�

This may turn out to be a fairly boring entry� but alas� I really want to remember yesterday�

It all started at work� with an email from Mr. devallyk� that well� just had me grinning from ear to ear� and I�ll leave that one at that�

Then� work, yes� Brigid made me so proud:

She comes back in, from one of her smoke breaks�

��sad� sad� That man� it�s so sad�� She looks at me� when she sits down at her desk� �Do you think I should buy him some dinner?�

I�m thinking� Yes, I know whom she�s talking about� There�s a homeless man� who hangs out outside of the firms building during certain hours�

I know him, because when I see him� I�ll buy him a few hot dogs from the local stand� so yeah I know him�

He�s very quite, soft-spoken� and NEVER, NEVER begs�

Instead he waits around during certain peek hours� when the lawyers are out eating their lunches or dinners� and he fishes their left-overs from the trash�

I�ve watched him quite a bit� and he�s smart too� (I mean, these lawyers don�t exactly eat cheap meals�) and he waits till they�re completely gone to fish their food out�

It�s like he tries to be courteous about it�

Again, the man doesn�t beg�

�So?� Brigid asks.

�Brigid� you should do it because you want to� not because someone else tells you �you should���

She understood�

�Yes� I�m gonna buy him a real dinner� yes� can you cover for me�?�

�But of course� off you go little soldier!��

She then comes back with this box full of stuff and hands it to me�

�I can�t do it��

She�s a bit shaken�

�No worries� on my way out� I will��

Yup� it was great� the man probably had the best meal that night� hell� it really was an impressive meal Brigid had put together�

So yeah� then my walk home�

Same as yesterday�(minus the hate and angst�)

So yeah� I get to this all too familiar spot see� and hmmm� what is this I see?

A white Van�
But upon closer inspection I notice it is in fact� NOT THE LEE MOBILE�

But a companion? Eh?

You see� it was parked in the same spot� across the same place� everything�

Except it�s a Chevy as opposed to a Ford� and minus all the stickers and Brandon Lee� See, this apparently was strictly a �Bruce lee� mobile� the windows were covered just the same� with Black and white pictures (again, just the same)�

At this point I�m thinking� this has got to be some kind of fluke!

So again, I turn around to really, really inspect the small �stores� it�s parked outside of� and what do I see?

No� not a martial arts shop or studio� nothing of the sorts� instead I noticed something I hadn�t noticed yesterday�

In between stores� this make-shift church� and the glowing yellow and white sign over head (which can easily be mistaken for another �store sign�) read something to the effect of: �(such and such religious info) The Christian Church (such and such religious info)�

And the rest of it is a bit of an inside joke my dear diary� so the only thing I can tell you is what came out of my mouth next�

�Serendipity�

Which is: �the faculty of making �fortunate� discoveries by accident.� Hmm� yes�

So off I went� with a bit of a chuckle under my breath�

I then ran into my roommate on the walk home� she grabbed me and asked me to come with her to score some wine for a congratulatory drink with her sister� at our place� (she got into grad school�)

So of course� I went�

And I casually introduced them both to the Andes Mountain� vineyards� Mmmmm� yummm� Viva Chile!

Well� to make a long story short� we ordered some mexican (from what is my officially favourite Mexican place in Astoria!)

It was great� the giggles� the wine� the mexican� I haven�t done any of that in quite a while really�

This was in fact: Me in my element� along with good company�

After the food and the wine� the lady�s asked me to come along with them to their Grandparents for Thanksgiving�

Mind you� this isn�t really a very important holiday for me� as it is for most Americans�

Because, as I am sure I�ve stated before� I wasn�t raised in a very a typical �American� family or neighborhood�. If anything, Thanksgiving is just another excuse to party and take the day off from life�
Which in itself, is a very �hispanic� attitude� hence, the kind of concept characterized by: Mi casa, es su casa!!! (my house, is your house.)
which can be transferred to also mean� �What the hell!! Your holiday is my holiday! Cheers!� Ha! Gotta love it!

But they had the most worried look on their faces when they invited me� which read like: Oh God! Don�t say no! You might be alone!

And add to that� well� they�re a bit atypical, as per an �American�- suburbish family� so the whole thanksgiving thing� means a whole lot to them�

So needless to say� I was very humbled by the invite� and said yes�

Then the night get�s topped off with me finally talking to Mr. mustangusmc� what a doll ladies!!! What a doll!!!

We chit-chatted for quite a bit� I think I may very well� email Lara (his wife) at some point to say hello�

They say the people you hold around you� are an extension of your personality�

Which I find to be true, over and over�

So I�m sure she must be equally quite a dream�

And then� (yes more!!!) I talked to Shari� and rounded out the whole day� telling her about everything that had happened�

�� so can you believe it? How serendipity� all of it! A �Christian Church�?! Ha!!!!�

�hey man I believe it�� she answered� �I really do believe in that kind of thing��

�Oh Shari!!�

But yes� how serendipity� all of it�

(Aside: See J�� you can write about pretty cool things too�)



previous : next

* - 2007-07-05
--------------------- - 2006-05-30
hello, goodbye - 2006-05-24
Pinky burglar - 2006-03-09
So let's go... - 2006-02-24